Resetting the Printer Cold Reset Cold reset clears all data from the printer memory and sets all the defaults back to the factory settings. CAUTION Performing a Cold Reset resets the HP JetDirect configuration. To avoid making changes to your configuration, remove the HP JetDirect card before performing a cold reset. If possible, print a Configuration Page prior to performing a Cold Reset. This will document current settings for later reference. To perform a Cold Reset: 1 Turn off the printer. 2 While pressing [Go] , turn the printer on. COLD RESET appears briefly on the display, then INITIALIZING appears.
After a few seconds, RESTORING FACTORY SETTINGS appears on the display, followed by OFFLINE . The cold reset is complete. 3 Press [Go] to return the printer online. READY appears on the display. Clearing NVRAM This procedure will clean up the NVRAM by removing old areas that are not being used. 1 Turn off the printer. 2 While pressing [Cancel Job] turn the printer on. CLEANUP NVRAM appears briefly on the display, followed by INITIALIZING . After a few seconds READY appears. 3-38 Printer Operation