Garmin — Adjusting the Distance from Shore

4 Follow the colored line, steering to avoid land, shallow water, and other obstacles. Creating an Auto Guidance Path 1 Select Navigation > Routes & Auto Guidance Paths > New Clearing the Active Track > Auto Guidance . 2 Select SELECT , and choose a destination point. Select User Data > Tracks > Clear Active Track . The track memory is cleared, and the active track continues to be recorded. Filtering a List of Routes and Auto Guidance Paths You can filter a list of routes and Auto Guidance paths to quickly find a saved destination. 1 Select MENU > Filter . 2 Select an option. Managing the Track Log Memory During Recording 1 Select User Data > Tracks > Active Track Options .

2 Select Record Mode . 3 Select an option: Reviewing an Auto Guidance Path 1 From the Navigation chart, select a path. 2 Select an option: To record a track log until the track memory is full, select Fill . To continuously record a track log, replacing the oldest track data with new data, select Wrap . To view a hazard and adjust the hazard path, select Hazard Review . To change the path name, or to adjust or recalculate the path, select Edit . To delete a path, select Delete . To navigate the selected path, select Navigate To . Configuring the Recording Interval of the Track Log You can indicate the frequency at which the track plot is recorded.

Recording more frequent plots is more accurate but fills the track log faster. The resolution interval is recommended for the most efficient use of memory. 1 Select User Data > Tracks > Active Track Options > Record Interval > Interval . 2 Select an option: Adjusting an Auto Guidance Path 1 From the Navigation chart, follow the on-screen instructions or use the arrow keys to move the destination point to the new location. 2 Select SELECT > Move Point . 3 Select BACK to return to the navigation screen. To record the track based on a distance between points, select Distance > Change , and enter the distance.

To record the track based on a time interval, select Time > Change , and enter the time interval. To record the track plot based on a variance from your course, select Resolution > Change , and enter the maximum error allowed from the true course before recording a track point. Canceling an Auto Guidance Calculation in Progress From the Navigation chart, select MENU > Cancel . TIP: You can select BACK to quickly cancel the calculation. Setting a Timed Arrival You can use this feature on a route or an Auto Guidance path to get feedback about when you should arrive at a selected point. This allows you to time your arrival at a location, such as a bridge opening or a race starting line.

1 From the Navigation chart, select MENU . 2 If necessary, select Navigation Options . 3 Select Timed Arrival . Deleting All Saved Waypoints, Routes, and Tracks Select User Data > Manage Data > Clear User Data > All > OK . Auto Guidance CAUTION The Auto Guidance feature is based on electronic chart information. That data does not ensure obstacle and bottom clearance. Carefully compare the course to all visual sightings, and avoid any land, shallow water, or other obstacles that may be in your path. TIP: You can quickly open the Timed Arrival menu by selecting a point on the path or route.

Adjusting the Distance from Shore The Shoreline Distance setting indicates how close to the shore you want the Auto Guidance line to be placed. The Auto Guidance line may move if you change this setting while navigating. The available values for the Shoreline Distance setting are relative, not absolute. To ensure the Auto Guidance line is placed the appropriate distance from shore, you can assess the placement of the Auto Guidance line using one or more familiar destinations that require navigation through a narrow waterway. 1 Dock your vessel or drop the anchor. 2 Select Settings > Navigation > Auto Guidance > Shoreline NOTE: Auto Guidance is available with premium charts, in some areas.

You can use Auto Guidance to plot the best path to your destination. Auto Guidance uses your chartplotter to scan chart data, such as water depth and known obstacles, to calculate a suggested path. You can adjust the path during navigation. Setting and Following an Auto Guidance Path 1 Select a destination ( Destinations , page 8 ). 2 Select Navigate To > Guide To . 3 Review the path, indicated by the magenta line. 4 Select Start Navigation . 5 Follow the magenta line, steering to avoid land, shallow water, and other obstacles. NOTE: When using Auto Guidance, a gray segment within any part of the magenta line indicates that Auto Guidance cannot calculate part of the Auto Guidance line.

This is due to the settings for minimum safe water depth and minimum safe obstacle height. Distance > Normal . 3 Select a destination that you have navigated to previously. 4 Select Navigate To > Guide To . 5 Review the placement of the Auto Guidance line, and determine whether the line safely avoids known obstacles and the turns enable efficient travel. 6 Select an option: If the placement of the Auto Guidance line is satisfactory, select MENU > Stop Navigation , and proceed to step 10. Navigation with a Chartplotter 11